Ye Olde AAPL Tree Blog is Moving, Sorta!

You may have noticed me kvetching (am I using that right?) about the conversion from Apple News RSS (which…took a while to get on in the first place, because I’m a nobody) to the new-to-most Apple News Format (which…hopefully takes less than a month since I’m already on RSS, but then again, I remain a nobody).

I’m a bit excited to get started blogging on Apple News, given the newness of the platform and the small chance my posts find a broader audience. (As for the prospects of me making back any significant portion of my $99, um, “news developer fee”/earmarked tax write-off 😛 in iAd revenue…well, I should probably cut back on the coffee budget, anyway.)

For those few but much-appreciated regular readers of mine, a quick Q&A on the changes.

Are you “going premium”?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

let me catch my breath

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

[POST-WWDC 2016 UPDATE – Well, Apple News now has subscription options added in as of iOS 10. So, leave me to my momentary delusions of getting even $20 in subscription revenue per year, TOTAL, for the moment.]

You’re telling me you might post more than once or twice a quarter? YOU.

Quite possibly. Maybe once a month! 😉 Actually got inspired to write up 2-3 posts in the span of about a week. So, depends on how things go.

Where will I be able to find your newest blog stuff?

On the “AAPL Tree” channel, same as currently, except it’ll be hosted directly from Apple as I understand it vs. the current RSS approach (unless I find my own Apple News-compatible host as a mirror).

Here’s the direct iOS-only link to my channel:

https://apple.news/TuY-CX_-jRziryK895rDu6g

What if I’m not in the US, UK or Australia? 

I have readers outside the US, UK and Australia? Kidding, I know I have a few, to add to that other few in the Apple News-supported regions, all of two countries. And I appreciate you all.

I’ll probably re-post most articles to WordPress within a few days after publication to Apple News (which, according to Apple, is a matter of seconds once you’re cleared to post in Apple News Format without restriction, vs. the 30-60 minutes or sometimes never via RSS). For stuff like Apple earnings, I’ll try to post to WordPress with a shorter delay. Apple News Format, unfortunately, is not nearly as “copypasta-friendly” as WordPress, though as you’ll see from my Hyper Light Drifter review (should it ever appear), Apple News Format does help make blog posts look better on a basic level without much effort.

If I feel so inclined, how might I support your work, should you be cleared to post in Apple News Format?

Well, shares, recommendations, and retweets are the lifeblood of my ego – er, this blog – it’s all related, isn’t it? 😉

If you’d be so kind to support me, indirectly, financially, well, I know I don’t have a fraction of the necessary audience for, say, Patreon, but rumor (read: Apple’s own public-facing stuff) has it Apple parcels out ad revenue to news content creators…and I have yet to see a single ad on the News app. But if you DO happen to see one near a post of mine – and you have the bandwidth/time to spare – I dunno, try clicking it now and then to see what happens.

Closing in on three years and a bit over 250 posts, I’m interested in seeing how my next “phase” in blogging goes. Thanks for reading, and I hope you can catch my newest posts on the News app in “native” format soon!

 

Leave a Reply

